The four factors that are used to determine the quality and value of a diamond are called The Four C’s: cut, color, clarity and carat weight. The Gemological Institute of America (GIA) Diamond Grading System is used to evaluate and communicate the quality of diamonds and is the system used by the majority of the diamond industry.

In Part 1 of this series, we explored diamond color. In this post, we will look closer at how diamonds are graded for clarity.

When we speak of a diamond’s clarity, we are referring to the presence of identifying characteristics on and within the stone. While most of these characteristics are inherent qualities of the rough diamond and have been present since the earliest stages of the crystal’s growth below ground, a few are actually a result of the harsh stress that a diamond undergoes during the cutting process itself.

In this video you will learn how diamond clarity is graded.

I often give presentations to clubs, organizations, etc. If you are interested, please give me a call.

Master Gemologist Appraiser

4016 Cortez Road West
Suite 1201
Bradenton, FL 34210
ph: 941.756-8787