The four factors that are used to determine the quality and value of a diamond are called The Four C’s: cut, color, clarity and carat weight. The Gemological Institute of America (GIA) Diamond Grading System is used to evaluate and communicate the quality of diamonds and is the system used by the majority of the diamond industry.

In Part 1 of this series, we explored diamond color.  In Part 2 of this series, we explored diamond clarity.  In this post, we will look closer at how diamonds are graded for cut.

As the single human contribution to a polished diamond’s beauty, cut is perhaps the most important, yet most over-looked, of the Four Cs of diamond quality. How does cut affect a diamond’s value and beauty? A good cut gives a diamond its brilliance, its dispersion, its scintillation-in short, its life. And brilliance is what a diamond is all about, especially in the eyes of the consumer. The particular angles and finish of any diamond are what determine its ability to handle light, which leads to brilliance.

In this video you will learn how diamond cut is graded.

I often give presentations to clubs, organizations, etc. If you are interested, please give me a call.

Master Gemologist Appraiser

4016 Cortez Road West
Suite 1201
Bradenton, FL 34210
ph: 941.756-8787