The four factors that are used to determine the quality and value of a diamond are called The Four C’s: cut, color, clarity and carat weight. The Gemological Institute of America (GIA) Diamond Grading System is used to evaluate and communicate the quality of diamonds and is the system used by the majority of the diamond industry.

In Part 1 of this series, we explored diamond color. In Part 2 of this series, we explored diamond clarity. In Part 3, we looked at diamond cut.  In this post, we will look closer at how diamonds are graded for carat weight.

It’s the old quandary. Is bigger better? Size is sought after, naturally; but overall quality counts in the stretch.

This balance of size and quality makes up much of the art of a professional gem cutter. It is the cutter’s job to produce a gorgeous diamond while giving the consumer the highest CARATAGE for his or her money. Caratage means CARAT, the measurement used to weigh a diamond. 1 Carat = 200 mg.

Don’t confuse it with KARAT, the method of determining the purity of gold.

In this video you will learn more about diamond carat weight.

I often give presentations to clubs, organizations, etc. If you are interested, please give me a call.

Master Gemologist Appraiser

4016 Cortez Road West
Suite 1201
Bradenton, FL 34210
ph: 941.756-8787